Type One

image.jpegIt was three years ago that I was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes.  While I still don’t have it completely under control, I am getting better.  Type 1 is usually found in kids and teenagers, but no shocker to most of you, I matured a little bit later than most.  Yet I can’t imagine how a 4 or 5 year old kid can manage this disease, or their parents for that matter.

With the kick off of A1C camp at Gage park this week, I wanted to let you know about an opportunity for you to help many others who have this disease. Penny and I have signed up to raise money for JDRF, the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, and we hope to raise $500 at the rodeos and camps that we will be at during the months of June, July, and August.

We made leather steer-heads with the blue circle for Diabetes Awareness and with a donation to JDRF you can stick one of these guys on a gear bag, hang it from a purse, or attach it to a saddle and help fund research for juvenile diabetes.

Just a little update for you.

About Travis Long

I am a cowboy saved by the grace of God.

Leave a Reply

