Hurry up and read this!

Its tough at times to keep up a pace.  I’ve started working with leather to teach myself patience…its not working.  I rush a lot.   I would say “hurry” but its one letter longer than “rush” and thats not how I do things.  Today was one of those days where my pace of life was on display.

Today as I drove around town, I found myself angry at the pace in which everyone else was living life.  The speed limit wasn’t fast enough, the Taco Bell employee couldn’t get me my change quick enough, and to top it all off, I was in the slow lane at walmart.  Two lanes and I picked wrong.  The knight at the end of Indiana Jones and the Holy Grail said it best: “He chose poorly…”

I so desperately want to return to the days when our pace was dictated by the rise and fall of the sun.  When hurry was not in our vocabulary.  The word that has been buzzing in my head about this lately, I stole from a buddy of mine.

“Margin”

You know what a margin is…right? Its that part of the paper that you don’t write on.  Its the leftover part, the unfilled part, its the area that is unused.  Im not as good with my time as I should be.  I struggle with stewardship in that area.  But I feel like my margin is getting marginalized (see what I did there).  There is less and less leftover at the end of my day, week, and month.

I have noticed that I serve God more faithfully when I have margin.  Its not a chore to invest, take interest, counsel, or interact with someone when Im not running full tilt.  I talk with people and care about them more when Im not rushed.  I serve better when I have time.  “I can take that trash out…”; “I can take your tray…”; “let me hold this door for you”.

I think Jesus lived at a pace that his disciples could follow and keep in time with.  Probably ticked off Judas a time or two with his lack of hustle, but everyone else was ok with it.  In his time, he accomplished more for people than anyone else ever had.

I need to start saying “No” to some things.  I need to prioritize better…steward better…plan better.  These things have never worked for me though.  What I need to do is TRUST better.

Trust that God will take care of the things I can’t, don’t get to, or run out of time for.  I need to trust that He is able where I am not.

At the end of the day…I have a trust problem, not a hurry problem.

About Travis Long

I am a cowboy saved by the grace of God.

3 responses to “Hurry up and read this!”

  1. sparky says :

    I too have a patience and trust problem. Trough practice and time I have learned to “let go and let God”. After I let go I have to keep my hands off and trust in the results, no matter how fast or slow that result comes.

  2. Sherry Holmes says :

    So much truth in this…I have been feeling the same thing. Not just stop and smell the roses….Slow down and wait on the Lord.

  3. Ruth Jones says :

    Travis,,I have been walking with God since 1962 and this devotion today still applies to me. I lay things at HIS feet and then pick them back up because of my impatience . I have really enjoy your messages. God bless you richly.

Leave a Reply

